Anna Raimondo with the video DIVINA at BIENALSUR

9 august - 30 december 2023, MUNTREF Artes Visuales, Buenos Aires, Argentina

BIENALSUR presents SHE DEVIL, a project launched in 2006 by Studio Stefania Miscetti in Rome, where the 13th edition will be held this year. She-Devil, or Shanna the She-Devil, is the name of an adventurous Marvel heroine, one of the first whose identity features break with stereotypical roles of femininity. Inspired by Shanna’s mischievous, irreverent, and incisive spirit, SHE DEVIL is an ongoing female curatorial collective. The gender perspective is defined by the theme chosen for each edition: the body, power, the struggle, the mirror. Each curator selects an audio-visual work, introduced by a brief description. Additionally, all the participants jointly contemplate and discuss the work of the artists chosen by their colleagues, following a format reminiscent of the women’s salons of the 19th century. At that time, the domestic domain was the primary space for the political education of women, who were excluded from public debates. SHE DEVIL serves as a reminder that the salon model and the informal gathering are still tools of empowerment through “the feminisation of conversation as an intellectual, artistic and political practice”.

In the halls of the MUNTREF Museo de Artes Visuales, BIENALSUR presents a selection of 14 videos of the SHE DEVIL project, which will offer a transversal reading of its different editions. At the end of the tour, two video loops summarising each edition will be presented, and the auditorium will screen a loop with historical videos that were part of the proposal. Finally, in line with the constant expansion of SHE DEVIL, the project in Argentina incorporates new voices: four curators from the BIENALSUR team invite four local artists to present their work.


Eugenia Calvo (ARG)

Ana Gallardo (ARG)

Lida Abdul (USA-AFG)

Lia Chaia (BRA)

Nil Yalter (TUR)

Emilija Škarnulytė (LTU)

Bertille Bak (FRA)

Zoulikha Bouabdellah (ALG)

Johanna Bruckner (DEU-AUT)

Anetta Mona Chisa (ROU)

Kathryn Cornelius (USA)

Lilibeth Cuenca (DNK-PHL)

Silvia Giambrone (ITA)

Marta Dell’Angelo (ITA)

Maria Di Stefano (ITA)

Ellie Ga (USA)

Kate Gilmore (IRL)

Margherita Giusti (ITA)

Laura Grisi (ITA)

Nilbar Güres (AUT-TUR)

Shadi Harouni (USA-IRN)

Kristina Inčiūraitė (LTU)

Jess Johnson & Simon Ward (USA-NZ)

Flo Kasearu (EST)

Nina Lassila (FIN)

Loredana Longo (ITA)

Jumana Manna y Sille Storihle (USA-NOR)

Rachel Maclean (GBR-Escocia)

Katharina D. Martin (DEU)

Nandipha Mntambo (ZAF)

Tamara Moyzes (CZE-SVK)

Ariel Nahón (ARG)

Trine Lise Nedreaas (GBR-Escocia)


Luana Perilli (ITA)

Mariuccia Pisani (ITA)

Anna Raimondo (ITA)

Julika Rudelius (DEU)

Larissa Sansour (PSE)

Marinella Senatore (ITA)

Tracey Snelling (USA)

Lerato Shadi (ZAF)

Elaine Shemilt (GBR-Escocia)

Irene Sosa (USA)

Gian Domenico Sozzi (ITA)

Mathilde Ter Heijne (FRA-DEU-NLD)

Christian Thompson (AUS)

Lara Torres (GBR)

Eulalia Valldosera (ESP)

Marisa Williamson (USA)

Ming Wong (DEU-SGP)

Rona Yefman y Tanja Schlander (ISR-DNK)

Mary Zygouri (GRE)

Joanna Zylinska (GBR)

Angela Marzullo (CHE-ITA)